14.6 C

PM Narendra Modi dedicates 75 Digital Banking Units across 75 districts

Must read

With an aim to promote financial inclusion, Prime Minister on Sunday dedicated 75 Units (DBUs) to the nation.

Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor Shaktikanta Das also attended the launching ceremony via virtual mode.

The setting up of 75 DBUs in 75 districts of the country was done to commemorate the 75 years of independence of the country.

According to Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), DBUs will be brick-and-mortar outlets which will provide a variety of facilities to people such as the opening of savings accounts, balance-check, printing passbooks, transfer of funds, investment in fixed deposits, loan applications, stop-payment instructions for cheques issued, applications for credit and debit cards, tax and bill payment and nominations.The PMO statement said DBUs will enable customers to have cost-effective, convenient access and enhanced digital experience of banking products and services all through the year.

The DBUs are being set up to ensure that the benefits of reach every nook and corner of the country and cover all states and union territories. Eleven public sector banks, 12 private sector and one small bank are participating in the endeavour.

It said they will spread Digital Financial Literacy and special emphasis will be given to customer education on cyber security awareness and safeguards.

Also, there shall be adequate digital mechanisms to offer real-time assistance and redress customer grievances arising from business and services offered by the DBUs directly or through business facilitators and correspondents.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article